Copenhagen-based Luboš Soukup Quartet on their autumn tour

The modern jazz project Luboš Soukup Quartet, that came into existence in 2012 in Copenhagen, is visiting the Czech Republic once again. The band is playing six concerts in five cities. Musicians will feature both — compositions from their latest studio album, which has been released this autumn, and tunes from their older CDs.

The band is led by the saxophonist and composer Lubos Soukup, who is the recipient of the Danish Music Talent Award 2017. He studied at three European music schools, including the jazz conservatory in Prague and music conservatory in Copenhagen, Denmark.  During his studies abroad, he fell in love with the Scandinavian music tradition and settled down in Denmark. In recent years, he has been active with composing music for his own bands. He teaches also Saxophone and Ensemble at the Music and Dance Faculty of the Academy of Performing Arts (HAMU) in Prague.

Other band members are the German pianist Christian Pabst, who brings fresh lyrical poetry to Soukup’s compositions, and the Danish drummer Morten Hæsum, who is famous for his innovative, highly interactive way of playing. The Slovak bass player Rastislav Uhrík will join the band during the tour as well. He is known to the jazz fans, for example, from the band Vertigo.

The CD release concert is on Sunday 3rd December 2017 at 21:00 at Jazz Dock, Prague. The band will present the album “Země” (The Earth), which features guest appearances from the guitarist Lionel Loueke. The musicians have invited another jazz star to join them during the special event — namely the Czech guitarist David Dorůžka.

Link to Facebook event:

For more information visit or facebook page

02/12/17 U Bílýho Černocha, Česká Lípa
03/12/17 Jazz Dock, Praha –  ALBUM RELEASE CONCERT; Guitarist David Dorůžka as guest
04/12/17 Studio 1, Český rozhlas, Ostrava
05/12/17 MusicLab, Brno
06/12/17 Klub Art, Opava
07/12/17 U Maleho Glena, Praha

Luboš Soukup – sax
Christian Pabst – piano
Rastislav Uhrik – double bass
Morten Hæsum – drums